Weekend assignment: Learn del.icio.us

Because social media tools are a part and parcel of today’s online journalism (whether to find sources, promote your work, or listen to the community), many of our “weekend assignments” (see the syllabus for the explainer if you’re confused about those) will involve learning something new about the social web.

We’ll begin with social bookmarking—in particular, Delicious. If you need a refresher after my overview in class, try this:

Your assignment:

1. Bookmark at least 10 articles of interest to you.

2. Use the “share” function to share some of those articles with others (e.g., via Twitter, or look for a Facebook integration)

3. Just experiment, explore, and have fun getting familiar with this tool.

4. Post a comment to include a link to your public Delicious feed.

p.s. We may get back to this later in the term when talking about link journalism, but check out Publish2—it’s like Delicious built for journalists.

18 Responses to “Weekend assignment: Learn del.icio.us”


  1. 1 donniehogan January 25, 2010 at 10:40 am

    http://delicious.com/donniehogan

    I understand the concept and positives with social bookmarking, however I am completely new to using this technology so it’s going to take some getting comfortable with it. The tag function is very useful with research and sharing is something I already use with facebook when I come across an interesting article that my friends might have missed or not heard about yet. Good site. I like it.

  2. 2 Sean Beherec January 25, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    http://delicious.com/sbeherec

    Before the assignment I had a vague idea of what del.icio.us was and maybe once or twice had visited the site. I’ve used Facebook to send links to friends, as well, but the del.icio.us’s tagging allows a much more organized view of your links than Facebook does.

  3. 3 hollymacrossin January 25, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    http://delicious.com/hollymacrossin

    I had to use delicious, and similar bookmarking sites, in a previous Multimedia class and didn’t really care for it. I’m not sure I care for it this time around either. Granted, it is useful and helps to organize articles that are of importance to yourself and friends. I may sound stupid for saying this, but I found it kind of confusing to figure out at the beginning. I have the hang of it now, but I still haven’t “shared” any articles yet because I can’t figure out how. That’s what I get for being one of the only non- Multimedia majors I guess. I am willing and ready to use this site regularly however, and get something out of it. I am not scared! Any help would be appreciated though!

  4. 4 Jordyn Davenport January 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    http://delicious.com/jordyndavenport

    This was my first time using Delicious or anything like it. I can definitely see the benefit of using Delicious as far as remembering where sites are when you want to go back and reference them, or recall something that you forgot. As far as sharing goes, I generally share links through facebook and e-mail and I think I will continue to prefer e-mail because I like to include my take on an article or questions for the recipient when I send my friends links.

  5. 5 Amber Genuske January 25, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    http://delicious.com/akgenuske

    This is my first time using a “social bookmarking” site as well. I understand the benefit of keeping all of my bookmarks in one, organized area, but I have a difficult time grasping what it can do for me. I was confused on how the site works and had to add the Firefox button component that is now cluttering my tools, unfortunately. I plan on keeping up with Delicious and hopefully will be able to utilize it more on a personal level than solely to complete a class assignment.

  6. 6 katiemyung January 25, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    http://delicious.com/eymyung

    “Delicious” is my first “social bookmarking” site that allows me to do something for storing, sharing, and discovering web bookmarks. When I tried to share some of my articles with others at the first time it was little bit tricky to do that. However, I found how to utilize it and became more comfortable to use it. Also, “Delicious” is really cool because there is a tag which is to help users find specific content. So, I am willing to use this site because I can get new information that I am specifically interested in.

  7. 7 dluippold January 25, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    http://delicious.com/dluippold

    Delicious seems like it will be an excellent tool, especially when researching assignments. At this point, I do not have very many articles under the same tab, but after I continue to use it I can definitely see the tags becoming very practical. I think Delicious’ primary utility is its ability to be accessed from any computer. Most browser bookmarks have a folder option, which is similar to a tag, but access is confined to that computer. Being able to access bookmarks from any computer will be be very useful.

  8. 8 victorialeece January 25, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    http://delicious.com/v.garcia

    Delicious proves to be a useful tool for the avid internet reader. It is a great way to streamline interesting articles, personal interests and career pursuits. I always feel outdated when I have to be instructed to use such types of sites, but that is what multimedia journalism is about–learning new and useful ideas to organize and produce stories. I’m not sure if I’ll use it everyday, but it is a clever organizational strategy when working in groups.

  9. 9 Patricia Rodriguez January 25, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    http://delicious.com/patricia.rod24

    First time using Delicious, or any social bookmarking site for that matter. I found it to be an easy way to lose a couple of hours in bouncing around through dozens of websites but not really finding anything. Particularly not if you are looking for something specific either. The ten or so articles I bookmarked took me about 2 and a half hours to complete just because delicious, to me, is a realm of tangents. I generally enjoyed using it though.

  10. 10 danicwilson January 25, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    http://delicious.com/dani.wilson

    I was introduced to del.icio.us before in a multimedia intro class, but didn’t find it very useful. I did find the concept very interesting, however, and this semester I’m using it to organize information and links for a musical that I’m directing. For me, it’s like having all of my bookmarked pages on my laptop, except I can have access to them at any computer. This is extremely helpful if I need to send set photos to my tech director or script excerpts to actors and am not at home. I checked on the app store on my iPhone to see if there was a del.icio.us app but couldn’t figure out which one was the most legit. Overall I think that the site is an interesting concept, especially if used in a journalistic context by tagging all of your sources on a blog, but there are some aspects of the program that take too much time to be worth it.

  11. 11 Kurt Ray Mitschke January 26, 2010 at 12:47 am

    http://delicious.com/kmitschke

    Before this assignment I had heard of Delicious but never really knew what it was, or attempted to find out. The idea is great, I love sharing links that I find interesting–in fact I use Facebook and Twitter in much of the same way. Delicious just makes access so much easier, and the tagging gives it a great organization function. The only thing that I did not like is that I couldn’t just click a button to share to Twitter…or maybe I didn’t see it? Regardless, I really hope to utilize this new tool in the future.

  12. 12 Ryan Murphy January 26, 2010 at 12:57 am

    http://delicious.com/rdmurphy

    It is actually sort of funny that we were tasked with making a Delicious account this past week, because I have been meaning to get back into using it for a while. I’ve used a lot of different bookmarking services out there, but Delicious still seems to be the most straight forward without all the fluff. Personally I have no desire for a bookmarking client that comes with all the extra social bells and whistles. If I want to share things on Facebook and Twitter, I’ll go there to do that. This works along the same lines as Gmail’s labels, and you quickly realize that tagging makes a lot more sense than trying to come up with five or six folders that must encompass everything you are interested in.

    My problem? I’m addicted to inventing new tags. I’m pretty sure I will not be using the “membrillo” tag anytime again soon, but it is nice to know I will always have that option.

  13. 13 willhanderson January 26, 2010 at 1:10 am

    http://delicious.com/will_anderson

    Wooh, finally got it done! If Delicious were a type of food, it would be a coconut— a pain to crack open, and then kind of sour even so once you get to the insides. However, when used sparingly, say sprinkled on top of ice cream or combined with alcohol to make a “delicious” drink (pun intended), it’s kind of rewarding. And, like coconut, Delicious can be a fine compliment to other social media (Twitter, Facebook, Flickr, etc.) if you can figure out how to integrate all of them with relative ease.

  14. 14 emilywatkins January 26, 2010 at 1:12 am

    http://delicious.com/emilywatkins1

    I think the concept behind Delicious is really interesting. I’ve never used a social bookmarking site, but I can see how it would be useful for many people. I have at least 50 bookmarks on my browser, which can seem really overwhelming at times. For that reason, I like how Delicious enables users to add tags to each bookmark so they are easier to find in the future. I also like that you can search for popular tags and find other web sites by looking at another user’s tags. Overall, I think it’s a good tool to know how to use and become familiar with. I think it is useful if you’re constantly keeping up with a lot of web sites or want to find articles about a certain topic, but I’m not sure if Delicious is a tool that I would use on a day-to-day basis.

  15. 16 John Lee January 26, 2010 at 2:06 am

    http://delicious.com/jlee426

    (sorry for the previous post, apparently I cannot delete posts)

    I had never known a website like Delicious and its services existed so I was pretty intrigued at the possibility of being able to know make my bookmarks ‘mobile’. It is pretty convenient to be able to access websites that I find valuable and important using the internet from any computer. Another function that I find extremely useful is the ability to tag these bookmarks and thus consolidate similar bookmarks for easier accessibility. Overall, I was very pleased with the simplicity of Delicious.

  16. 17 Hannah January 26, 2010 at 3:42 am

    http://delicious.com/bonjourhan

    I had never used a social bookmarking site before. Facebook has something similar, but it’s not nearly as intense. I think del.icio.us is a really handy tool, and it is a great idea, but I don’t think I would use it outside of class. It’s very simple,which I appreciate, but it just seems like an extra thing to keep track of. Perhaps I will get used to it and become hooked, but as of now, it doesn’t contain anything I wouldn’t already check (or it contains things I wouldn’t normally check at all).

  17. 18 Yolande Yip January 26, 2010 at 4:04 am

    http://delicious.com/yolandeyip

    Like most others, del.icio.us is my first experience with a so-called “social bookmarking” site. As it advertises, the interface is fairly intuitive, and on the surface del.icio.us seems like a very useful tool. As much as I like the tagging system, however, I feel as though I can’t yet utilize its full potential. Since I’m just starting out, it’s as though I’m just assigning arbitrary tags–science, technollogy, Mashable!, Shirky–with no clear vision on the best way to organize everything. I suppose there’s just a learning curve.


Leave a Reply

Twitter feed

Blog Stats

  • 30,136 hits
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

What I'm reading


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

